Ella 7s

  • The marquee event for the Indigenous Sevens Rugby is the Ella 7's. Named after the famous Ella Brothers, Aboriginal Wallabies players who represented Australia during the 80’s, this tournament is getting bigger and better each year. In 2014, the Ella 7's includes Cairns, Brisbane and Coffs Harbour. Hosting between 10 (Cairns) and 44 teams (Coffs Harbour) in both men’s and women’s divisions, up to 2000 people attend these Sevens carnivals.

    In October 2014 the Ella 7's brand expanded to include a Universities Ella 7's tournament held at the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence in Redfern, Sydney. The tournament was a new form of the game being trialed- Non Contact 7's, which allows an easy introduction to Rugby and also enables men and women to play on the same team. Teams from Wollongong University, The University of Technology Sydney, New South Wales University, Newcastle University and Macquarie University took part in the day with Woolyungah of Wollongong edging out Wollotuka of Newcastle in the final.